8th SS Cavalry Division Florian Geyer

The name comes from the Franconian knight Florian Geyer (about 1490 to June 9, 1525), who during the German Peasants' War led the rebelling Tauber Valley farmers in 1525. He died in a battle.

  • 15th SS Cavalry Regiment
  • 16th SS Cavalry Regiment
  • 17th SS Cavalry Regiment
  • 18th SS Cavalry Regiment

Division Leaders:

  • SS-Brigadeführer Wilhelm Bittrich (until February 1943)
  • SS-Brigadeführer Hermann Fegelein (until November 1943)
  • SS-Brigadeführer Joachim Rumohr

In April 1941 two Totenkopf-Reiter-Standartes were renamed the SS Cavalry Regiments. In August 1941 a brigade Komandostab was formed under the Reichsführer-SS. It was sent to Russia where it bloodily acted as the security unit of the home front. In 1942 it participated in the anti-partisan operations in the Army Group Mitte's home front. The brigade was reformed into a division from June to August 1942. They battled outstandingly under Vjasma-Briansk-Rzev. Before 1943 the division was subjected to the 2nd Panzer Army. In December 1943 the division rested and was improved in Croatia, where they also fought against the partisans. The 17th SS Cavalry Regiment gave its staff over to the new 22nd SS Cavalry Division. From there on the units were spread out and battled in different areas on the Southern and Balkan fronts, in Hungary and Poland. From November 1944 to February 1945 they were in Budapest's garrison, where after conquering the town they fought the Red Army in street battles until the division was defeated.


Cuffband Florian Geyer (from March 1943), runic symbols SS on the collar patches.

23 men from this division received the Knight's Cross of the Iron Cross.